CWB Election Results PDF Print E-mail
Written by Neil Billinger   
Sunday, 12 December 2010 13:08

Single desk supporters remain in control of the CWB's Board of Directors.

Voters in four of the five odd-numbered districts voted in favor of candidates who support the Wheat Board's export monopoly for wheat, durum and barley.

Three incumbents were re-elected and both new directors back the single desk selling system.

Allen Oberg, the Chair of the CWB Board of Directors. was returned in District 5.  It will be the third term for the Forrestburg, Alberta farmer.   District 5 covers northwest Saskatchewan and northeast Alberta.

Stewart Wells from Swift Current is the new District 3 Director.   The former President of the National Farmers Union defeated three other candidates to win the district covering southwest Saskatchewan and southeast Alberta.

Kyle Korneychuk from Pelly returns as the Director for District 7, which includes northeast and east-central Saskatchewan.

John Sandborn of Benito, Manitoba collected the most votes of the three candidates running in District 9.

Henry Vos of Fairview, Alberta was re-elected in District 1.  Vos is the only one of the five directors supporting market choice.

Just over 41 per cent of the eligible 28,481 eligible farmers returned their mail-in ballots.

You can check out the vote tallies from each district by going to:

oem software
Last Updated on Thursday, 16 December 2010 10:11